It’s Time to Play with Your Inner Child

What did you really love to do when you were little_ (1)

My Uncle’s voice cascades up the stairwell, I can make out the lyrics to Puff the Magic Dragon followed by renditions of Hallelujah. The music with its heart and unabashedness leaves me smiling uncontrollably.

My sister, cousin and I sit around the table post-breakfast writing in our journals, sketching in our sketchbooks, laughing about adulting. We’re in our 20s and we’ve been doing these same activities since we were kids.

Dancing with abandon, limbs flailing, leaping across the basement floor, us cousins stop the cleaning lady in her tracks, she won’t come down the stairs, and we can’t stop dancing to Nena’s 99 Luftballons. The music keeps us moving.

Over the course of a single weekend, these are just three moments that left me feeling complete. Moments lived without restriction, moments tapping into the truest pieces of ourselves, moments drawing from the spirit of childhood.

I am a huge fan of the inner child- the childlike spirit that lives within each of us calling us back to our sense of wonder, play, creativity. So much can happen when we enter into this place. It feels lighter, time expands, it breathes in new possibilities that we may not have previously imagined.

Each of us was a child once. That’s obvious. You already knew that. But I want you to think about how you can bring this spirit into your day to day.

I’ll be honest, I have a lot of questions and activities that can guide you to connecting more deeply with your inner child and I’ll definitely be sharing those periodically, but right now, I want you to contemplate the following:

What did you really love to do when you were little?

I’m talking you could do this for hours, lose complete track of time, and allow it to completely consume you. What was that activity?

Shout it out. Grab a journal and write it all down. Just get it all out one way or another

For me some of the things on my list are: exploring, drawing, crafting, reading, rolling down hills, spinning, playing imagination games, planning parties, climbing trees, dancing, singing, writing, climbing thing other than trees…

When you have your list, look at how often you’re still doing those things or if you’re doing those things at all.

If you are, how do they make you feel?

If you aren’t, there are a couple of questions to ask yourself: Why aren’t you doing them? AND What would happen if you did?

I encourage you to start doing more of the activities you enjoyed when you were little. This is just one simple step to start connecting more deeply with your inner child and bring more play and wonder into your world.

Try it out and let me know how you feel after engaging in one of the activities from your list! I’m excited to hear how it goes.

Leave a Reply

