Lessons from Solo-Venturing

 

solo-venturingHave you ever gone to a movie by yourself? How about a solo vacation out-of-state or out-of-country? A restaurant?

I’m always surprised when I run into people who haven’t done any of these things on their own. It’s always been such a huge part of my reality and frankly it’s never made me feel awkward or like I’m a “loser.” Rather it’s quite the contrary. I enjoy my solo-adventures immensely and I feel empowered when I do things on my own. I just figure that I might as well go ahead and do something whether or not people want to join me, end up bailing on me, or I just feel like going at it alone. Here are just some of my solo-ventures.

  • Watched “The Dark Knight” and “Where the Wild Things Are” in theatres (I’m sure there are other movies, I’m just not thinking of them right now).
  • Journeyed to Italy for 10 days.
  • Toured  the Celestial Seasonings Factory in Boulder.
  • Bussed, flown, driven, subwayed and walked to get to my destination which has led to ample reading/journaling time, sleeping in strange places, getting lost, familiarizing myself with new locales, and having interesting conversations.
  • Walked two-hours to see Cyndi Lauper and Blondie in concert.
  • Moved an entire apartment by foot.
  • Eaten at numerous restaurants… fancy and not-so fancy.
  • Visited museums and spent hours looking at art.
  • The list goes on.

These escapades have been prominent as they have allowed me to get to know myself and my own power. In my solo-ventures I have learned that:

I am resourceful

I can’t say how many times I’ve had to be resourceful in my solo-venturing. In my college and post-college years I would try and find the least expensive ways to get from point A to point B. This often led to finding peculiar bus lines (which were really crowded 3-hour long van rides), sleeping in bus stations, and walking…a lot. It has also forced me to get past my pride and ask for help. Point is, you have the power to find  a solution or multiple solutions to whatever query comes your way.

I am great company

In my time exploring new cities I know that I love taking things at my own pace, that my favorite mode of transportation is walking, and that sitting in a park with a good book or in a coffee shop to write and people-watch  provides me with hours of entertainment. When you spend enough time with yourself you begin to know your idiosyncrasies. You know what you’re passionate about, what irritates you, what you can spend hours doing, and what enlightens your soul.

I am stronger than I give myself credit for

How many people can say that they’ve moved an entire apartment by foot? There have been times that I’ve had to do things on my own because at the time that was the best option for me. Seeing “The Dark Knight” alone happened because the guy I was dating at the time stopped calling me and I was going to see that blasted movie with or with out him. Moving my apartment by foot happened because I didn’t have a car and I didn’t have anyone I wanted to ask for help. I am strong emotionally and physically. I can make things happen and I will make things happen.  When you do things on your own you begin to notice what you are truly capable of and start recognizing your personal power.

New friends appear anywhere and everywhere

Fun fact: my husband was the first person I met when I moved to Connecticut. I had just flown into the States from Italy and couldn’t get in touch with any of the people I knew who lived in New Haven. So…I ended up staying at a creepy hotel and the next day I set out in search of internet. My now-husband, Geoffrey, was the barista at the coffee shop I walked into and we hit it off immediately . Likewise, when I was in Italy, I ended up hiking Cinque Terre with two friends who I had just met at my hostel. When you allow yourself to be open to whatever comes your way you become open to meeting new and incredible people.

 What solo-ventures have you been on? What have you learned?

4 thoughts on “Lessons from Solo-Venturing

  1. alohaleya says:

    love this! we have a lot in common. i walk everywhere (and love it) and i also travelled to italy solo last summer. it’s sooo important to enjoy our own company. i only wish i could say i walked 2hrs to see blondie and cyndi. lol 🙂

    • Camila says:

      I know! I saw that you went to Cinque Terre, Venice, Florence… travelling alone is such a different experience. P.S. going to see Cyndi and Blondie was totally worth the lengthy walk.

Leave a Reply

