4 Things You Should Be Asking Yourself Everyday

4things

Every day is a clean slate, a time to start anew.

When I was in college, we had a house rule: it’s not a new day until you go to sleep and wake up again. For example, if it was 3am on a Sunday (by conventional standards) and we were still up in the kitchen having long conversations about our next door neighbors we still  considered it Saturday… house rules.  It created an easy reference to the system of life. When you wake up, it’s a new day.

For me, a new day means a second chance. You start at ground zero and can commit to completely rocking it, taking some hibernation time, wallowing… it’s completely up to you. If you’re committed to really soaking up life and relishing the verve, here are some questions you should be asking yourself every day.

  1. What is my intention for the day?

Some days you will just want (and need) to sit at home with a pint of chunky monkey ice cream watching the 5-hour BBC version of Pride and Prejudice. Some days you will need to just cry about your break up or your lost job. Some days you will just need to hibernate and allow yourself to refuel so you can face a new day. That’s okay. If that’s your intention let that be your intention. Today I intend to rest and recuperate.

Other days you’ll want to go into the mountains for a 12-hour hike. You’ll want to live outloud. You’ll want to explore a new city, read a library book while sipping cup after cup of tea. Some days your intention will be to expand. Today I intend to live with intention and embrace adventure.

Each day your intention may be different. Sometimes it will be the same for weeks on end. My intention as of late is: Today I’m going to live a full life.

How do I want to feel today?

If any of you know the goddess Danielle LaPorte, you will know about Core Desired Feelings and how you should allow your Core Desired Feelings to guide you in your life. When you do this, miracles unexpectedly happen. You’re living life by embracing how you want to feel. So how do you want to feel today? Allow those feelings to guide you as  you make your decisions.

Today I want to feel full, helpful, energized. Choosing to have these feelings has guided me to exercise this morning, help with a mailing for an incredible peace organization, work on blogging, going to a coffee shop in downtown Santa Fe to be amused while I blog, etc.

How am I going to take care of myself today?

Self-care is critical. As someone who has neglected myself in the past in an effort to finish papers, go to meetings, call people I’m supposed to call, and so forth, I know how important it is to take care of yourself each and every day. If you missed my blog post on The Best Advice I’ve Ever Received, this is when I finally had the aha! moment regarding self-care.

What are you going to do today to be genuinely kind for yourself? Are you going to a dance class? Are you taking a few moments to watch the sunrise before your family wakes up? Are you taking a bubble path and reading a juicy novel? Are you getting a good night’s sleep?

Today I took time to exercise, get outside, and steam myself an artichoke.

How do I want to engage with others today?

Whether it’s at our job, at home, over the phone, through social media, or out on the streets, more often than not we have to engage with other people. How do you want to respond to your e-mails? How do you want to treat the cashier at the grocery store? How do you want to act when your kids wake you up in the morning? How do you want to respond when a stranger talks to you? You can choose to be pleasant, sincere, disengaged, kind, patient. It’s  your call and it can completely change your day.

Today I chose to be friendly and patient. A woman I was working on a project with earlier in the day was a bit snappy toward me. I was initially hurt and shocked by her reaction but I chose to keep a smile on my face and be patient in showing her a new way of doing something. You never know what people are experiencing outside of your interaction.

What’s your intention for the day?

2 thoughts on “4 Things You Should Be Asking Yourself Everyday

  1. Sofia Marquez says:

    I loved this!! More often than not, our daily intentions set the course not only for our daily lives, but for the overall health of our WHOLE LIFE.

    Good intentions, even if haphazardly altered during the course of the day teaches us to ADJUST AS NECESSARY. This in turn teaches us that constant acceptance of the fluidity of LIFE allows us to adjust our LIVES as they are generally in a state of flux and SOMETIMES, COMPLETELY ALTERED.

    Setting intentions charts a course and FLEXIBILITY allows us to eventually get there most of the time, even if we ZIG and ZAG to get there.

    LOVELY advice Camila!!

    • Camila says:

      I’m so glad you liked my advice Sofia! I love what you say: “our daily intentions set the course not only for our daily lives, but for the overall health of our WHOLE LIFE”. That’s absolutely right. I also agree that we need to adjust accordingly throughout the day and just be flexible because life itself is unpredictable. LOVE!

Leave a Reply

