The Power of YES!

YES!I watched “Yes Man” for the first time over President’s Day Weekend. Less than a week before, my husband and I learned that my bad-ass cousin was driving from California to New Mexico. We quickly decided, hell, we obviously need to go see her. She’s only going to be three hours away. Three hours away, that’s nothing!

So, that’s what we did. We drove the three hours to Gallup to spend 24 hours with my cousin. That’s how we found ourselves curled up on couches and a mattress in the middle of a living room floor in Gallup, NM watching “Yes Man”… which obviously got me thinking about the power of yes.

How many times have you wanted to say yes but said no instead?

You hear abut the power of no all the time. You hear about how you need to learn to say no, how saying no will set you free and make you feel empowered. I absolutely agree that it can, but yes is just as powerful.

One of my favorite authors, Paulo Coelho, has a great quote:

“When you really want something to happen, the whole world conspires to help you achieve it.”

When you say YES! with every fiber of your being,Β  all the steps needed to get to where you want to go just fall into place. It might not be in exactly in the way you anticipate, but it happens.

You just need to let yourself say YES!

Let me give you a recent example.

Earlier this year I started hearing about the World Domination SummitΒ . Have you heard about it? If not, you should definitely look into going next year. Anyhow, I heard about it and kept thinking to myself damn, I really would love to go to this conference some day. I have no idea how I’ll be able to go, or when, but someday I’m going to be there.

I mean really, how could I not? I love inspiration. I love hearing different perspectives. I love people and organizations who are making a difference in the world.

And I just kept hearing about it more and more.

Bloggers I followed mentioned going in previous years. Danielle LaPorte and Gretchen RubinΒ whose books I recently read, were speakers at the conference in 2013. YouTube videos I watched kept talking about Chris Guillebeau, the founder of The World Domination Summit.

So I signed up to be on the list.

I just wanted to be in the know. I honestly didn’t think I’d be able to make it in 2014. I mean, the tickets were super expensive, I’d have to figure out how to get there, I was already going on a summer trip, I just didn’t think it would happen.

Subconsciously though, my soul presented that desire to the universe. I told my dad about it, I asked my husband what he thought about me going, and I remembered that I still had some Christmas money saved up and a check from an old job that I hadn’t deposited.

A way to make a goal that I imagined happening in the distant future presented itself. So when tickets went on sale last Tuesday, I rushed to my desk when my staff meeting ended and bought one of the last 98.

I said yes and the world said yes with me.

This has happened dozens of times for me, not just in big ways, but in little ways. When I say yes to going on a hike when my legs want to be moving, when I say yes when I feel the need to write, when I say yes to going spontaneously to dinner with my dad- I feel happier. I am elated with my decisions because I’m saying yes to the beauty of life.

What have you said YES! to lately that has made you feel fulfilled?

5 thoughts on “The Power of YES!

    • Camila says:

      No problem Antonia! I know it’s difficult to get caught in the ” maybes” and “yes buts” but I’ve found that the universe tends to work in my favor when I’m all in.

    • Camila says:

      Thank you so much for checking out my blog! I am absolutely ecstatic to be going to WDS and yes, we should meet. I can’t wait to experience EVERYTHING first hand. It sounds like a phenomenal time!

Leave a Reply

