The Game of Life a.k.a. Decisions, Decisions

Life Revised

As a child, I loved the game of Life.

I always took the college route because I knew at the end I would get to choose between three careers. I loved glancing at the options in my hand and choosing one. Would I be an artist, an athlete, or an accountant? After quickly dismissing the accountant card I had to make a decision. Did I want to be a painter like my grandfather or enter the world of figure skating and wear a  sparkly outfit that danced with my movements? I loved my plastic blue and pink children, picking out obscure names like Haloki and Guthree for them, and plopping them in whatever-colored minivan I chose for that specific game. I loved picking my house and landing the Victorian with a sweet tower.

I am a woman who loves choices. Frankly, the game of Life doesn’t have nearly as many choices as it should have. Where’s the option for the girl who wants to marry the girl or the dude who doesn’t want to settle down but aspires to travel the world and live in fancy hotels?

Why doesn’t the game of Life have more choices? Why doesn’t society itself give more options? Why are things always so damn boxed in?

Think about it. Society has expectations of us. Our family has expectations of us. We have expectations of us.

But it doesn’t always have to be so rigid, so black and white, so “here are three cards, pick one.”

Sometimes I don’t just want one gelato flavor on my waffle cone. Sometimes I want the pistachio and chocolate all melded together. 99% of the time I don’t want to be a one-career married gal who settles down and has a nice family. 99% of the time I want to be a gypsy, a wife, an artist, a storyteller, a changemaker, an intuitive life coach, a business creator, a student, a teacher.

110% of the time I want to be 100% Camila.

I can do that.

I can be all of those things, and honestly I need to be if I want to be the truest version of myself.

I don’t have to choose just one card and that’s a beautiful thing.

What does it mean to be 110% YOU?

 

2 thoughts on “The Game of Life a.k.a. Decisions, Decisions

  1. Cate says:

    Wonderful post, Camila! I’m so excited for this blog! Interesting question- and my answer surprises me, or, surprises the week-and-a-half-ago-me. One of my biggest life changes yet happened a week and a half ago. I gave birth to my son. I assumed, from what I’ve heard, that I wouldn’t have as much “me time” or I would abandon hobbies I love. I know it’s only short time in, but we’ve already had some obstacles, and i handled them better. And, I’ve crafted more ferociously. I’ve thought kinder thoughts, spoken gentler words, and loved more. I am me-er. To be me, I must be kind, i must be thoughtful, I must make time for art, crafting, and play. I must laugh, listen to music, and sing and dance around. I must enjoy food and eating. I must stick up for what I believe in, and for what I believe is the right thing for me (and now, for my family and son. I’ve already found out that I am doing this better and without holding back since my baby’s arrival.) I didn’t entirely answer what it means to be 110% me, but I know I am much more me now in the past 2 weeks, and ten months really, than before. As a kid, teenager, young adult..I never really imagined my life with my own children. Maybe I assumed it would make me less me, and that I didn’t want that. I’m so happy that I’m 110% me. xo

    • Camila says:

      Cate, thank you so much for leaving a comment. I love reading these. Congratulations on your new addition! That’s so cool that your little one has made you more you. I agree that sometimes thinking about adding another person into my life makes me wonder in what ways my identity will change. I’m glad to see that it has positively changed your world and that you’re crafting like crazy, being gentler with your actions and feeling more you than you ever have before. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

